My 2016 Reading List Review

Heyo! So, do you guys remember at the start of 2016, when I made a reading list of books that I didn’t stick to? Well, yeah, I actually on read two of the books I mentioned, so… if there’s one thing 2016 taught me, it’s that I cannot stick to lists for the life of me. Ha.

2016 has come and very nearly gone, so I thought now might be the time to talk about all the books I read. I have one (well, technically two books, but in one post) review on two very different books left, but that’ll be up later. For the rest of the year, I’m going to be doing random updates, my amigos.

WARNING: THIS MAY BE THE LONGEST THING I’VE DONE.

So, the very first book I got to read this year was Wonder by RJ Palacio. And what a book it is, guys. I took it wit me on holiday, and it is now one of my go to’s. If I were ever to do a giveaway, I’d include this book because it is so eye opening. I did do a review- here it is: https://xeniaahh.wordpress.com/wonder-rjpalacio/ .

The other book on that list I read was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. My school librarian calls it a ‘Marmite Book’, and I agree, it really wasn’t my kind of thing. It’s one of the few cases I prefer the movie. I managed to read it all, though. It’s okay.

This was the year I also discovered historical fiction. I’ve never really liked it; partly due to my hate of History. However, Phillipa Gregory changed that with The Red Queen + The White Queen.  They’re great books. I love them. A lot. I can’t wait to read more of her books in 2017. So, if, like me, you never thought about historical fiction, read those two. They’re awesome. I did a review on one of them:  https://xeniaahh.wordpress.com/theredqueenbyphilippagregory/

I also drifted out of dystopian/sci-fi/fantasy and all that sort of stuff. A recent book I read but didn’t get to review is Room by Emma Donoghue. My, what a book. It’s in the pov of 5-year-old Jack, and tells you the story of a lady who is kidnapped and doesn’t get out. It’s a wonderful story, and honestly I can’t scream it enough how much you need to read it. It teaches you a lot.

Another thing that happened was Beauty by Louise Mensch. I’ve mentioned this in a good few YouTube videos, but somehow missed it on here! I’ll try and fix that next year, but it’s a great book. More for women, but I love it. End of.

I managed to finish up my Cassandra Clare collection, this year, with the first of The Dark Artifices.  Currently, I don’t remember doing a review on it, but that’s okay, because I’m going to start to gather up all of her books and review them in one post. Look out for it!

Okay, I’m sure there are many more books I’ve read this year, but my memory is failing me and my Spanish speaking assessment is calling out to me. If I don’t post again before Christmas, then have a good one and eat a lot. I’ll do one/two between Xmas and New Year’s. Bye!!

Leave a Reply

